Sugar Land Rotary honored exceptional Fort Bend ISD teachers during a special recognition program held at a recent Rotary meeting.
For more than 15 years, Sugar Land Rotary has been honoring the teaching profession through this recognition program. Sugar Land Rotarians Craig DeSerf, General Manager of David Taylor Cadillac, Vocational Director, coordinated the program, and Dr. Timothy Jenney, FBISD Superintendent, introduced the 2011 District Teachers of the Year and the Teacher of the Year Finalists.
The District Teachers of the Year who were honored include: Danielle Moss of Fleming Elementary School, FBISD Elementary Teacher of the Year; and Yolanda Clarke of Travis High School, FBISD Secondary Teacher of the Year.
Also recognized were the FBISD Teacher of the Year finalists: Elementary SchoolsDenise Loftin (Lexington Creek Elementary), Stacy Garcia (Meadows Elementary), Rachel Lollar (Schiff Elementary), Coleen McMenemy (Seguin Elementary), and Roxann Barrera-Coffman (Settlers Way Elementary); Secondary SchoolsJared Curtis (Crockett Middle School), Clarence Ford III (Hodges Bend School), Ayanna Banks (Austin High School), and Tina Grohman (Ridge Point High School).
“We are extremely proud of the work of our classroom teachers. We are grateful to Sugar Land Rotary for recognizing our exceptional Teachers of the Year,” said Dr. Jenney.
Each teacher received a complimentary gift provided by Sugar Land Rotary.
Pictured at the Sugar Land Rotary teacher recognition are (from left to right): Seated – Rachel Lollar, Danielle Moss, Yolanda Clarke, Coleen McMenemy; Standing – Roxann Barrera-Coffman, Denise Loftin, Sugar Land Rotary President Bouche Mickey, Stacy Garcia, District 5890 Governor Sunil Sharma, Clarence Ford, Jared Curtis, Ayana Banks, and Dr. Tim Jenney.