In June, Sugar Land Rotary installed a new slate of officers for 2014-2015 that includes: Patrick Bullard, President; Stacy Croft, President-Elect; Mitch Rahim, Vice-President, Rafael Manrique de Lara, Secretary; Justin Steinhard, Treasurer; and Ward Pendelton, Past-President. Pictured is the new Sugar Land Rotary President Patrick Bullard giving an award to outgoing President Ward Pendleton.



At the installation ceremony, awards were given to those who were Rotarians of the Month for 2013-2014, as well as those who served on the Sugar Land Rotary Board of Directors. Other awards presented include:

Sugar Land Rotary Hall of Fame recipient, Robbie Bates.

Each year the current president is allowed to induct a Sugar Land Rotarian into our Hall of Fame. Previous inductees include: Steve Harris, Steve Smelly, Bob Bilski, Marshall Wichard, Jeff Tallas, Charlie Myer and Cynthia King and Bill Griffin. The inductee should meet the four way test of Rotary. In addition, he or she should be a long time member of Sugar Land Rotary.  This Rotarian is a charter member of this club with a long record of service to Rotary. His spirit and hard work embody the spirit of Rotary and especially Sugar Land Rotary.

When speaking with other Hall of Fame members the sentiment was “it’s about time”.

  • Bates is a Paul Harris Benefactor which means he writes a $1000 check every year to the Rotary Foundation.
  • He has perfect attendance for his entire Rotary Life.
  • He and his family have hosted an exchange student.
  • He is also a past president of Sugar Land Rotary and has held numerous officer positions on many Rotary boards.
  • Every year he commits himself and members of his office to help account for our fundraiser.
  • The 2014 inductee to the Sugar Land Rotary Hall of fame is Robbie Bates

Sugar Land Rotarian of the Year, Robert Walters

"There is not enough time for me to express how many ways I can thank this man. A year and half ago he convinced me to take this job," said Ward Pendleton, Past-President Sugar Land Rotary. " Indeed he believed that it would be a great experience and Sugar Land Rotary and I would be better for it. Sugar Land Rotary is better for the many sacrifices this Rotarian has made. Even though he has a stellar record for many years of service to this club he agreed again to be on my board. I believe he has made a difference in the attitude of Sugar Land Rotarians. I know he made me better and most of all he helped to bring the club back as the most dynamic club in district 5890. My decision for this award was based on his service to this club. He, I am sure will say this should go to someone else, but I disagree. So the 2014 Sugar Land Rotary Rotarian of the Year goes to Robert Walters," said Pendleton.

Cornerstone Awards for service went to Rotarians Steve Harris, Rick Smith, and Greg Pendley

Steve Harris: This Rotarian helped Sugar Land Rotary the entire year by promoting the Rotary global Grant, numerous trips to Angola, and with the District has raised the funds to make the project at Darrington Prision a reality. Without his vision Sugar Land Rotary, would never have connected with Grove Norwood and Sugar Land Rotary would not have been part of the Darrington project.  Steve Harris embodies the spirit of a Rotarian making a difference.  

Rick Smith: With Smith's assistance, Sugar Land Rotary is in a better financial position. He is relatively new to Rotary and has already served secretary and treasurer. I expect even greater things from him in the future. A cornerstone award goes to Rick Smith.

Greg Pendley: This Rotarian not only has helped with Sugar Land Rotary's fundraiser but he has also served as a mentor. He helped with youth programs and most important submitted a global Grant to Rotary International and will sit on a board that will administer that grant. There is no one in this club who more embodies the objective in the 4 way test of Service Above Self.