At the 2008/09 Installation Banquet, Marshall Whichard was named as the Rotarian of the Year for the 2007/08 Club Year. Also, Jeff Tallas was inducted into the Sugar Land Rotary's Hall of Fame.  Congratulations Marshall & Jeff!

Marshall Whichard 2007/08 Rotarian of the Year -  Marshall started helping with this last year's planning some 12 to 14 months before the Club Year even started.  In addition, he took on leadership role after leadership role in helping make this year a tremendous one for our club.  From the Co-Chair of the Shrimpfest Sponsorship Committee, to the Co-Chair of the Legacy of Freedom Event, the his leadership role in Santa's Exchange, to his Co-Chairmanship of the Arcola Smoke Alarm Project, and our SLLL Legacy Project, he has truly shown PRIDE throughout the last year.  In addition, this Marshall has been a invaluable advisor to most everyone in the club over the years.  Lastly the Marshall Whichard exemplifies the ideals and values of this organization!  You always know that "Everything will be alright" as long as Marshall is involved,  this and much more is why our 2007-08 Rotarian of the Year is no other than Marshall Whichard !


Jeff Tallas Inducted Into Sugar Land Rotary Hall of Fame - Because of his tireless devotion to Rotary and the ideals of Rotary, along with his outstanding leadership as the Governor of District 5890 in 2007/08, Jeff Tallas was inducted into the Sugar Land Rotary Hall if Fame. This was an award started several years ago to recognize the members in our club that have gone well above and beyond the call of duty and have represented Sugar Land Rotary's ideals and values throughout the community, region and nation in a long lasting sustainable way.  07/08 President Myer said, "Jeff Tallas is truly the definition of what a Hall of Fame Member is for our organizaton."